When the movie started it felt like it was going to be the beginning of a great roller coaster ride. The opening action sequence on the plane was original, and a whole lotta fun.
It wasn't that the acting was bad. Tom Cruise was actually better in Knight and Day then he has been in any other movie he's done in a years, and Cameron Diaz is always great to look at. (Yes I'm that shallow).
The thing is that the script was absolutely ridiculous. Cruise plays Roy Miller, a super-spy that inadvertently gets Cameron's character June involved in the fight over a stolen item of great importance to so many people.
The action scenes are so over the top they got laughable, especially the car chase scene in Boston. However it's still the script that I will blame most of this on. I didn't give a crap about either one of these characters.
Every time Roy and June get into some kind of trouble Roy drugs her and when she wakes up everything is all better. Eventually she starts to realize that he did it all for love, and within a week she goes from timid tomboy to
cunning spy. Eventually she spins around on Roy while on a motorcycle to shoot at the bad guys as they are being chased through the streets of Pamplona during the great running of the bulls.
It was just to huge of a leap with her character to make it believable.
This could have been a real great high octane "Bird on a Wire" type movie, but it falls way short of that. Like I said before Tom Cruise was actually really good in this, and I had such high hopes that it would
be great. The thing about making a movie that has unreal action sequences is that it just has to fit the whole movie. It is just a small piece of the puzzle. The A-Team had too many unbelievable moments, but it was the
frickin A-Team that's what you should expect. I expected so much more from Knight and Day.

No comments:
Post a Comment