Friday, June 25, 2010

The Knight Bum

Yesterday I went to see Knight and Day.  I thought it would be a lot of fun.  Tom Cruise back in an action movie, and Cameron Diaz in a bikini.  How could that go wrong?  Too bad it did. 
When the movie started it felt like it was going to be the beginning of a great roller coaster ride.  The opening action sequence on the plane was original, and a whole lotta fun.
It wasn't that the acting was bad.  Tom Cruise was actually better in Knight and Day then he has been in any other movie he's done in a years, and Cameron Diaz is always great to look at. (Yes I'm that shallow).

The thing is that the script was absolutely ridiculous.  Cruise plays Roy Miller, a super-spy that inadvertently gets Cameron's character June involved in the fight over a stolen item of great importance to so many people.
The action scenes are so over the top they got laughable, especially the car chase scene in Boston.  However it's still the script that I will blame most of this on.  I didn't give a crap about either one of these characters.
Every time Roy and June get into some kind of trouble Roy drugs her and when she wakes up everything is all better.  Eventually she starts to realize that he did it all for love, and within a week she goes from timid tomboy to 
cunning spy.  Eventually she spins around on Roy while on a motorcycle to shoot at the bad guys as they are being chased through the streets of Pamplona during the great running of the bulls.
It was just to huge of a leap with her character to make it believable. 

This could have been a real great high octane "Bird on a Wire" type movie, but it falls way short of that.  Like I said before Tom Cruise was actually really good in this, and I had such high hopes that it would
be great.  The thing about making a movie that has unreal action sequences is that it just has to fit the whole movie.  It is just a small piece of the puzzle.  The A-Team had too many unbelievable moments, but it was the
frickin A-Team that's what you should expect.  I expected so much more from Knight and Day. 

Monday, June 21, 2010

The Eli Bum

There hasn't been a lot of time lately to sit down and enjoy something, anything. Work, Father's Day BBQ, and my Birthday have all monopolized my time over the last few days. It's not horrible, but I do miss being on the bum even after a day, let alone several. My wife and I were going to go to the movies last Friday, but the summer movie season of 2010 has continued to be forgettable. I liked The A-Team a lot, but when it is still the best movie I've seen so far this summer, well thats just sad. I finally did get to sit down and watch a movie that I meant to see in the theater.

The Book of Eli is another post-apocolyptic tale about a man traveling across the now desolate world. Denzel Washington plays the title character of Eli. We follow him during his 30th year of traveling west, by foot. I kept on thinking that this guy had to have hit ocean by now. Does it really take over 30 years to walk across the country? Forrest Gump did it in much less time, even though he was jogging. Eli carries a book that he reads every day. He believes the book will be bring back the faith that people don't even remember that they need. The Book of Eli is pretty much a story of a messenger of faith to save the humanity in all the people that are left in the world. Gary Oldman's character Carnegie seems to be the only person that knows the power of the book, and he is determined to get it back, at any cost.

It's cool to see Denzel in a role that shows some fighting skills. Sure, he has been in a few action movies, but he's never beaten and killed guys like does in Eli. Ricochet is still one of my favorites though. It's also great to see Gary Oldman play a bad guy again. He still has that certain panache that he had in movies like The Professional, and Romeo is Bleeding. Mila Kunis co-stars as well, and she continues to garner some good roles. Even though she has been in Hollywood for years she is finally showing she can do more then just be that pretty girl from That 70's Show.

All that said The Book of Eli is an o.k. movie. It wasn't awesome, and actually, a little slow. The Hughes Brothers do a really good job of setting the tone and visuals of the whole movie, but at times it feels like it's just crawling along.

By the time I hit the surprise ending I realized why it took Denzel 30 years to walk west, but it also made me want to watch it again to see all that I missed (after knowing the big reveal) the first time around.

I'm glad I didn't buy a ticket, but it is worth a rental.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The True Bum


A few years back when HBO’s biggest hits, The Sopranos & Sex and the City, ended many of us thought that their hold on must see Sunday night television was over, and for a little while it was. Then came True Blood.

True Blood occurs in a world in which vampires walk amongst humans, not to mention so many other supernatural creatures. It is based on The Southern Vampire Mysteries novels by Charlaine Harris, and series creator, and producer Alan Ball has created a phenomenon unlike any other vampire themed production in Hollywood. I know, I know, the Twilight movies and books are so much bigger and more profitable, but True Blood kicks Twilights ass.

I’ve been working a lot lately, but I finally got a chance to sit down and watch the premiere episode of season 3 that aired on Sunday. Most of the story lines were set up with all the cliffhangers of season 2. Who kidnapped Bill? What will Sam do when he finds his family? How will Tara be able to get over the death of Eggs? What will happen when someone finds out about the Queen and Eric’s distribution of v? ….and those are just a few. Not all of the questions have been answered yet, and probably won’t be until seasons end.

Over the last few years there has been a huge adoration for all things vampire, but I think True Blood outranks them all. Like most stories True Blood builds on the foundation of a love story. Anna Paquin plays the lead character Sookie Stackhouse a mind reader, and probably so much more, she’s completely endearing. Her love interest and real life finance is vampire Bill Compton played by Stephen Moyer. Bill lives by a different code then most vampires; he doesn’t believe in the death of innocent humans and is pretty much looked down upon by other vampires for his decision.

All the supporting characters add so much to the more to the show, and are what makes it such a huge success. Eric, a vampire sheriff of “Area 5” in Louisiana, rules with an iron fist and looks to have some big plans for Sookie, which are still a mystery to us. Sookie’s brother Jason is a trouble maker, but it’s always fun to see what kind of mess he can get into next. Sam Merlotte, owns the local watering hole, and just happens to be a shape-shifter. Sookie’s best friend Tara is a no nonsense southern girl that is never afraid to speak her mind. One of the most enjoyable character’s to watch is Lafayette. Lafayette is Tara’s cousin, and is as flamboyant, and sassy as so many people you see in New York and L.A., but in Bon Temps, Louisiana his, fuck ya’ll I am who I am attitude, is a whole lot of fun to watch on screen. Bon Temps means good times in French, and lives up to it.

Season 3 promises more shape-shifters, werewolves, a vampire detective, and a gay vampire couple. When Season 1 started True Blood had 1.4 million viewers, now Season 3 premiered with 5.1 million, and that is just the people that watched it when it aired. By the time the final tally was taken from on-demand and re-airs True Blood averaged over 12 million. That is a huge leap for a show in it’s third year.

HBO and former Six Feet Under creator Alan Ball have created a wonderfully mysterious world of the supernatural and the sexy. Oh yeah, there is a whole lot of sex. They have also brought us back to something that hasn’t happened in a very long time. Must see Sunday night t.v., and some great Monday morning water-cooler conversation. I say keep it coming, because this season looks to be the best yet.

Friday, June 11, 2010

The A-Team Bum


I went to see “The A-Team” with a couple of friends, and we loved it. Sure, it’s not an academy award winning script, but it was exactly what I expected it to be. It was a ridiculous over the top action movie, and perfect mindless summer popcorn fun.

Director Joe Carnahan (Narc, Smokin’ Aces) did a great job realizing that no one was really going to take this movie seriously so why not create something completely off the spectrum of reality. Some of the moves this A-team accomplish makes no sense at all, including directing a falling tank into a lake by shooting its cannons, or Murdock’s ability to defy the laws of physics with a helicopter. The thing is that if you just let all that nonsensicality go, and just have fun with it, this movie can be a real good time.

Liam Neeson wasn’t my first choice to play Hannibal Smith, but he sold me. Never looking like he was trying to embody the character made famous by the classic George Peppard. The movie needed a solid actor to anchor the team, and he made it his own.

Capatalizing on his success from last summers “The Hangover”, Bradley Cooper does a great job as Templeton Peck aka Face. He’s got that American James Bond (Roger Moore style) charm that Dirk Benedict created so well on the series.

Howling “Mad” Murdock is played by Sharlto Copley from “District 9”, he was a lot of fun, and completely unpredictable. There were times in the movie when you can tell that he didn’t even know what he was going to do next, but he did it anyway and was always happily surprised by the outcome. Not to bad for a guy in, only, his second big movie. Copley gave us a few big laughs via his insanity, just like Murdock should.

Finally, B.A. Baracus was played by Quinton “Rampage” Jackson a UFC fighter in his first role. He is not the best actor in the world, but then again he is playing a role made famous by a horrible actor, so the shoes weren’t that hard to fill. Mr. T had three great roles in his career, Clubber Lang in Rocky III, Samson in D.C. Cab, and of coarse B.A. Baracus on The A-Team. Mr. T played Mr. T in all of them. Hey, I’m not even counting his Saturday morning cartoon in which he played Mr. T.

I understand that they needed a strong female lead, but Jessica Biel, no matter how hot she is, was completely miscast as the army officer delegated with the responsibility of bringing in the A-team. Patrick Wilson, and Brian Bloom round out the cast. Bloom has been a character actor in Hollywood for a long time, and he co-wrote the script. It’s nice to see him get a big role like this after plugging away with small roles for so many years. There is even a nice part for old Simon & Simon / Major Dad himself, Gerald McRainey.

When it comes down to it the whole movie’s foundation relies on the chemistry of the team, and you can tell that they have complete faith in each other. You can also totally see that they are having a lot of fun. So it made me feel like they could do anything no matter how extraordinary and I could suspend my disbelief for a couple of hours and just enjoy the craziness. I can totally see “The A-Team” getting panned by some critics, but that’s because most of them are looking for films. This isn’t a film it’s a movie, and it’s exactly what a senseless summer movie should be….a whole lot of stupid fun.
So when you're all out of choices, and you think there is nothing left to see, and if you can find them, then may be you can hire "The A-Team".

The A-Team - trailer

Thursday, June 10, 2010

The Marathon Bum

Although I have seen a countless number of movies, there are still a few classics I just either never got around to, or just had no interest in. Marathon Man was always a movie that interested me, but for some reason I just never sat down to watch it. Today, I finally did, and now I know that I should have watched it so much sooner.

Dustin Hoffman plays a jogging obsessive, graduate student that inadvertently gets involved in a mysterious plot involving his brother (Roy Scheider), who is working for a U.S. government group called “the division”. It all begins with the accidental death of the brother of Szell, a Nazi death camp doctor, and the unexplained safety deposit box that he left behind. Sir Lawrence Olivier is the character of Szell, a character that closely resembles Dr. Josef Mengele head SS Doctor of Auschwitz during WWII, and he is creepy. Most of the movie plays out in NYC circa 1975. It is always great seeing the way the city looked in the past. I’m not going to give away anything else, the whole point of the movie is the intrigue and suspense. Trying to figure out why they are screwing with this guy, what are they looking for?

When producer Robert Evans was casting he wanted Olivier to play Szell. At the time Olivier had cancer and was uninsurable for the film. So Evans got friends including David Niven to get him a meeting with the U.K. House of Lords, and got them to urge Lloyd’s of London in insure Olivier. The good knight paid back the favor by earning an Oscar nomination for the role, and then went on to hold off the cancer and live for another 13 years.

While watching the movie I came to the scene that reminded me of why I probably stayed away from it for so many years. Szell’s nickname was “the dentist”. He used to steal the gold from Jew’s teeth during the war. If any of you have seen the movie you know the moments I’m talking about. Once I saw Hoffman strapped down to the chair, and then Szell’s tools unravel I remembered hearing about the infamous interrogation scene. I’m o.k. with doctors, but I hate the dentist, and this movie does not help with that issue. The sound of the drill will send a shiver or two up your spine, but not as much as hearing Olivier repeating the notorious line “Is it safe?....Is it safe?......Is it safe?” over and over again.

I love new movies, but I adore revisiting, or discovering older ones even more.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

The Glee Bum


Sometimes when you’re in a relationship you wind up watching some shows that you probably wouldn’t watch if you were single.  I introduced my wife to shows like The Shield, Oz, True Blood, and Breaking Bad, and she has loved every one of them, and she introduced me to many as well, especially Glee.

Glee is a blast.  There have been other shows in the past that feature singing and dancing, like Cop Rock, and most recently Viva Laughlin, but none of them have had any success.  Glee has broken that curse with a vengeance.  Besides the ratings, there have been top selling albums, concert tours, Glee karaoke nights at bars, and self described Gleeks all over the world.

The show seems like it doesn’t take itself too seriously, but anybody that knows anything about Broadway knows different.  The cast is lead by veterans of the great white way like Matthew Morrison, Lea Michele and Jenna Ushkowitz, with support from some amazing guest stars like Neil Patrick Harris, Idina Menzel, & Jonathon Groff.  The ironic thing is that the best character on the show hardly ever sings (other then twice – Vogue & Physical).  Jane Lynch as Sue Sylvester is delightfully devious.  Her quick witted quips toward her self described enemies are always punctuated with a surly comment to make herself laugh, and we laugh along with her.  The meaner she gets, the more fun she is to watch.  Jane Lynch has been a dry witted ad-libing comic actress for years and it’s about time she got the focus she deserves.

The real star of the show is the music.  The choice to use popular songs instead of original material has become the life blood of the series.  Their renditions of songs we’ve all known for years have been nothing short of a whole lot of fun.  Don’t Stop Believin’,  Somebody to Love, Proud Mary, True Colors, a merely a few.  There was even an entire episode dedicated to Madonna.  As well as a Lady Gaga episode that also honored Gaga’s fashion sense that has taken the music world by storm.

Glee came out of nowhere.  The best thing the producers did was wet the whistle of fans by showing the pilot months before the premiere of the series.  Once the show started it hit the ground running, with a vengeance.  Glee just exploded.  Within 2 weeks of the beginning of the series FOX ordered a full season.  The cast had 25 singles at once on the Billboard top 100, almost breaking the Beatles record of 31, and they have been invited to and sang at The White House.

It is set as musical, dramedy that captures the heartfelt emotions of being a teenager, and a teacher, but it is much more.  There so many great moments that makes the show more then a singing venue.  Quinn’s pregnancy, Rachel finding her mom, Mr. Shue’s horrible marriage to a crazy lady, and Kurt’s coming out to his understanding father are just a few.  Even the surprising revelation in the season finale that Sue Sylvester has a heart was wonderful.

A few of my friends will probably make fun of me enjoying this show, and writing about it, but I don’t care.  I’m thankful to my wife for introducing me to Glee, so I guess what I’m trying to say is I’m now a self confessed Gleek.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

The District Bum


This weekend was the premiere of District 9 on cable, and it was such a joy to watch again.  A movie like this is why I love Hollywood.  It came as a sweet surprise to everyone.  No one knew much about it, until it was finally released.  The movie itself was almost never made, and the lead player never even thought about being an actor.

When producer Peter Jackson’s film based on the popular video game Halo was shelved, Jackson decided to give director Neill Blomkamp $30 million dollars to make whatever he wanted to.  Blomkamp put together a short film (Alive in Joburg, 2005), and asked non-actor Sharlto Copley to appear on camera for it.  Blomkamp loved Copley’s presence, and depiction of lead character Wikus van der Merwe, and offered him the role.  Copley took it and ran hard.  Soon after the success of District 9 he took the role of Howling Mad Murdock in the new A-Team movie that is being released next week.

You can see the obvious parallels to the apartheid of South Africa.  Instead of racial relations being the issue, it was the co-existence of aliens and humans.  Despite all of the alien visitor movies that have been released this one actually makes you ask yourself the question….what would we really do if a million alien refugees came to this planet?  If they were peaceful, would we greet them in peace?  Or would we try cage, or destroy them out of fear?  I guess these questions might be answered after you answer the main question, do aliens exist in the first place?

Either way, this is not just another movie about aliens.  It received Oscar nominations for Best Editing, Best Visual Effects, Best Adapted Screenplay, and Best Picture. Part documentary, part feature film.  District 9 became the first mockumentary (or at least part mockumentary) to be nominated for a best picture Oscar, surprising everyone in Hollywood.  Including producer Peter Jackson, whose trust in Blomkamp turned a $30 million dollar investment into an over $200 million dollar box office windfall.

Just like any successful commodity in Hollywood, if it makes money, then someone will find a way to keep it going.  Talks for District 10 (the so-called title) are going on right now.  I know a lot of people are not a fan of sequels, because they feel as if most of them are not as good as the first.  However, if a sequel is done right, then it can be a wonderful continuation into a world you’ve enjoyed so much the first time.  My only solace in this sequel, if it happens, is that producer Peter Jackson, and Director Neill Blomkamp are both involved.

District 9 took Hollywood by surprise, and maybe it was only nominated for best picture because of the new 10 nominee rule, but it was still well deserved.  If you haven’t seen it by now, then it takes a few seconds to set up a record on your dvr, and enjoy it now.

Friday, June 4, 2010

The Spelling Bum


It is just amazing how the spelling bee has become a, highly popular, nationally televised event.  With every word that these kids have to spell I feel a little dumber.  Would you know how to spell words like…..aguinaldo, terribilita, ochidore, gyokuro, engysseismology, or stromuhr?  Would you even know what the definitions are? I didn’t.  One of the funniest things that I realized while writing this is that Microsoft word didn’t even recognize these words.  These kids are absolutely amazing.

Considering all the crap that is put on TV these days it is really nice to see something like this be recognized.  I’m still trying to figure out why any of the Kardashians are famous (other then, as Joel McHale on “The Soup” would say, Kim is famous because she has a big booty and a sex tape).   To most of us the spelling bee gives us memories of being in front of your class, or school, but ABC/ESPN has brought it to an all new level.  The whole thing has been produced like most any sporting event.  Dramatic hosts & camera angles, backstage interviews, highlight reels, and a huge trophy presentation.  This year it got even bigger, Shaquille O’Neal even walked onstage and challenged last year's winner, 14-year-old Kavya Shivashankar, to a spell-off for his show “Shaq vs.”, which is also on ABC.

This was the 83rd National Spelling Bee, and ABC/ESPN has been televising it since 1994.  When ESPN started out they would broadcast some of the most unusual, and unwatched sporting events including darts, strongman competitions, wrestling, and Australian rules football.  So it wasn’t a surprise that they decided to start broadcasting the national spelling bee.

There is so much pressure on these kids.  You can see it in their face while they stand on stage, especially if they spell the word incorrectly.  Not only are they on national television, but you can also see the desperation in their parents eyes while their children are asking the moderator every question they can, so they can figure out the spelling of each outlandish word.  Most of which you will probably never use or even hear in your entire life.  I have also never seen that many mustaches on 13/14 year old kids in my life.  (Sorry, I had to put that in there somewhere, it’s just crazy).

So I congratulate this year’s winner, 14-year-old Anamika Veeramani from Cleveland, Oh, continuing the Indian-American domination of the spelling bee in recent years.  Indian-Americans have won the bee for the last three years, and for the last 8 out of 12 years.  She beat out 273 other competitors, over three days, to win the huge trophy, and $30,000 in cash, as well as a $2,500 savings bond, a reference library from Merriam-Webster, $3,800 in reference works from Encyclopedia Britanica, and a $5,000 cash prize from the Sigma Phi Epsilon Foundation.

The Spelling Bee is a wonderful thing to see get so popular in this pop culture hungry society.  So I figure that it’s only a matter of time before someone starts to broadcast the school science fair, or at least I hope so.

Thursday, June 3, 2010

The Finals Bum


So what to watch tonight? The answer really isn’t that hard. This years NBA finals is simply classic. Is there a bigger finals matchup in the history of basketball then Lakers/Celtics? I don’t think so. These two teams have actually met in the finals 12 times. Between the two of them they have a total of 32 championships, that’s more then half of the 63 overall championships in NBA history.

Most of the matchups have been in the ‘60s with stars like Elgin Baylor and Jerry West for the Lakers, & Bill Russell and Bob Cousy for the Celtics. However, it was Magic vs. Bird in the ‘80s that Bryant Gumbel once said “...saved the NBA…” It was blue collar vs. Hollywood, and everyone loved to watch them battle each other. It was Magic, Bird, and the emergence of Michael Jordan that turned the NBA in the media powerhouse it became at the time, and still is today.

Once Johnson and Bird retired both teams had their problems, at least until Kobe and Shaq teamed up in L.A. for a couple of championships in the 2000’s. Then in 2008 the rivalry was renewed. It was great seeing both of them in the finals against each other, but Kobe vs. Garnett was still no Magic vs. Bird. The series ended with Garnett finally believing that “…anything is possible”.

This year is going to be a little bit different for these two teams. It is the Lakers that have the home court advantage this time. Also, the emergence of Rajon Rondo for the Celtics is something the Lakers didn’t have to deal with in 2008, but then again Kobe didn’t have the support of Ron Artest at the time either.

So that being said screenbum fans, I’m calling for Lakers to win the whole thing in seven games. The big three on the Celtics (Garnett, Pierce, & Allen) aren’t getting any younger, so it might be a while before these two teams meet again in the finals. Enjoy it now while it’s here. These teams are so evenly matched that this series will have no problem fitting right in with the history of this classic rivalry.

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

The Wolfman Bum


There are certain times that you get to watch a movie that completely draws you in. You care so deeply for the characters that you can literally feel for them, and there plight, whatever it may be. The Wolfman was not one of those movies. Actually, I almost fell asleep at least four times.

It seemed like this was a character Benecio Del Toro was born to play. It’s too bad that the script just couldn’t stand up. This was a huge opportunity for him to carry a big budget film, and put himself on the leading man list that has eluded him for years. Del Toro has had a few good roles over the years, like the title character in Che’, Jackie Boy in Sin City, and Dr. Gonzo in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, but still nothing holds a candle to his breakout role as Fenster in The Usual Suspects. His next chance comes in the form of a stooge, as Moe Howard in The Three Stooges movie coming out in 2011. It’s going to be a Farrelly Brothers movie, and Sean Penn is already cast as Larry. No word on Curly yet, but the rumors are that it will be Jim Carrey.

Anthony Hopkins, Emily Blunt, and Hugo Weaving are part of the supporting cast, but with a script this mundane, there wasn’t much they could do.

The Wolfman is supposed to be a tortured soul that we are supposed to have empathy for. I had none. The brutality that he exhibited on screen made me start rooting for the villagers, and the story gave me no reason at all to care about Benecio’s character. All it showed was that a werewolf has no problem literally ripping a person apart. Complete viciousness became the main focal point of the whole thing. It got to a point where I was hoping that Hugo Weaving’s Scotland Yard detective would silver bullet his ass already, so the movie would be over. Don’t get me wrong, I love some good old blood and guts in a movie, but if the story doesn’t have a good foundation then it’s still a crappy movie. On a positive note, the effects were pretty cool, but I would never expect anything less from a Hollywood legend like Rick Baker.

I wanted to like it, I really did, but the mysteries were predictable, and the final battle scene was nothing if not anti-climactic. I always thought that the secret to a great movie is how the audience identifies with the film characters. If you don’t care about them, then you don’t care about what’s going to happen to them, so why would you want to watch them for two hours.

If you want to see a good werewolf movie go rent An American Werewolf in London, Teen Wolf, The Howling, or even The Wolf Man, with the originator Lon Chaney. I would even say go rent Abbot and Costello meet Frankenstein to enjoy some more of Lon Chaney’s work.

The Wolfman was a huge disappointment at the box office (cost $150 mil / box office take $62 mil.) and it will continue to be one in your living room. Sorry folks, if you want to be bored for two hours, and see violence for no good reason then by all means watch it. On the other had if you want to see brutality for a great reason, and a lot of fun skip The Wolfman, and get any Rob Zombie movie.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

The Queens Bum


I didn’t really get to watch much today, because I was trying to fix my frickin’ Xbox for hours. Damn, the red rings. (If you have an Xbox you know what I’m talking about) So I want to talk about something I watch almost every day.

As a huge fan of sitcoms it is always great news when I find out that one of my favorites is going into reruns. When there is nothing else on, you always know that one of your old reliable shows is always going to be there. In my house we go on certain sitcom rerun trends. Cheers, Friends, Seinfeld, & Two and a Half Men have all been set on the DVR to be there to throw on at a moments notice for a dependable laugh.

The flavor of the month has been The King of Queens. So many people wouldn’t even realize that the show was actually on for 9 years. Seriously, 9 years. I watched the show when it was still on CBS and I didn’t even realize that it was on for that long. It ran on CBS from 1998-2007.

Kevin James and Leah Remini play Doug and Carrie Heffernan, a simple hard working blue collar couple. Doug loves the simple things in life, especially food, and Carrie is a loud and forceful typical Queens girl. She has the same attitude and volume as so many girls that I knew growing up in Brooklyn, even the ones in my own house. One of the best protagonists on the show is Carries father Arthur Spooner that is played by the always classic Jerry Stiller. Arthur is a legend in his own mind; he loudly, and hysterically, voices his opinion at any given moment. Jerry Stiller’s Arthur is pretty much the same character he played in Seinfeld, but he adds so much to the show that it just doesn’t matter.

I know some of my friends would say: Seriously? You’re talking about The King of Queens? But I don’t care. The show makes me chuckle. However, the best part of the show is all the ridiculous moments that make my wife and I look at each other and laugh when we realize that we the same issues or argue about the same nit picky things as they do, or even just get on each others nerves enough to simply say “Shutty!”.

The show might have ended it’s run three years ago, but it has given Kevin James the opportunity to become a movie star, and with hits like “Hitch”, and “Paul Blart: Mall Cop” he has solidified himself on the big screen. He is even been able to fill the shoes of the late great Chris Farley in the upcoming movie “Grownups” starring SNL alums Adam Sandler, Chris Rock, David Spade, and Rob Schneider. You know that that other role would have gone to Farley if he was still alive, but Kevin James looks to be a perfect fit with those other guys.

The King of Queens might be a silly generic sitcom for most people, but to us its comfort and a quick laugh. So if you don’t like it, well that’s cool, but I do suggest finding one of the amazing reruns on TV nowadays, because it’s always good to have something there that you can always count on. Hey, it beats the hell out of channel surfing.